What we stand for

Who we are

We represent Labour’s open Left: a practical, open-minded and inclusive type of democratic socialism. Our ideas and campaigns are based on a simple strategy: creating broad and diverse alliances behind policies which transform society. 

We are realistic about the challenges our party faces, but we believe that Labour’s democratic left must take the lead and make the case for the change we need to see. This will only happen if our party is vibrant and democratic – if it can include a wide variety of views and groups within a culture based on equality, respect and fairness. 

We believe a radical Labour party must prioritise transforming our economy – the UK must become a high-investment, green economy rooted in a modernised, fairer, participative democracy. We stand with trade unions in demanding a new deal for working people, as well as supporting a radical reshaping of the welfare state as part of an economic model built on dignity and better quality of life for all. We are also firmly internationalist and stand in solidarity with those campaigning for social justice here and around the world. 

Open Labour has deeper roots in the history of the Labour left through organisations like Tribune and the Labour Coordinating Committee, but also as committed trade unionists. We are optimistic about our future and we hope you will become part of it. 


We are a grassroots and member-led organisation, and all of our funds are from membership fees and small donations. Our National Committee is elected by members annually and our basic positions and policies are set by members at our annual conference. You can join here.


Cooperation, human security and liberation.

Read more

Open Politics

Open politics built on democracy and inclusivity.

Read more


A new economic deal driven by people not profit.

Read more


Equality for all and strengthened trade unions.

Read more


Modern democracy with fair votes, greater devolution and common ownership.

Read more

National Committee 2023/2024

Tessa Milligan Co-Chair
Amen Tesfay Co-Chair & BAME Officer
Lauren Davison Secretary & Disabilities Officer
Alex Sobel MP Treasurer & Parliamentary Officer
Cai Parry Assistant Treasurer & Youth Officer
Pablo John Membership Officer
Andrew Clark Editor
Cllr Josie Parkhouse Councillors Network Lead
Cathleen Clarke Women's Officer
Paul Sweeney MSP Scotland Officer
Addi Haran Diman LGBTQ+ Officer
Kerry Postlewhite National Committee
David Hamblin National Committee
Fiona Conlon National Committee
Eli Harris National Committee
Luke Stronach National Committee